The Pokémon Company teases the ‘1,008 Encounters’ presentation

Guides

The Pokémon Company teases the ‘1,008 Encounters’ presentation

The Pokémon Company Japan announced on Twitter today that it’s set to air a new presentation soon, dubbed ‘Pokémon: 1,008 encounters’ as a way to celebrate the colossal number of the infamous pocket monsters that fans can catch and train across the many games. The recent titles Pokémon Scarlet and Violet finally bring the Pokédex over the one thousand mark, with the cheese-string-looking freak of a creature Gholdengo marking the 1,000 slot in the dex.

While little information is known right now, the Pokémon: 1,008 encounters presentation airs on January 12, 2023, at 14:00 UTC / 09:00 EST / 06:00 PST / 23:00 JST, with thanks to Serebii for confirmation of the times. Considering the timeframe of the presentation, it’s not unreasonable to think we might get a glimpse of the future, but fans should still hold their speculation horses, as most reveals still come in the form of full Pokémon Direct presentations. The announcement says “Let’s look back on encounters with 1,008 types of Pokemon!” so this is likely just a nice nostalgic presentation.

It’s hard to believe that in the nearly 30 years of the Pokémon franchise, there are now over 1,000 of the cuddly creatures to find, catch, and battle with. While that number is now too big to fit in a single game (which is fair enough, really), it still means there’s a huge library of monsters that fans look forward to seeing with each new entry. Hopefully, if we ever get Pokémon Scarlet and Violet DLC, a few of the classic cast can make a return, much like the additions made to Sword and Shield after release.

MORE FROM POCKET TACTICS: Pokémon Scarlet & Violet starters, Pokémon Scarlet & Violet breeding, Pokémon Scarlet & Violet legendaries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *